Listen Live

Election coverage on Radio Exe

Decision 2015

Election coverage on Radio Exe

Radio Exe is an independent, locally controlled radio station, run by Exmouth-based company Exe Broadcasting.

We owe no allegiance to any particular political party – and in line with broadcasting law, we’re not allowed to promote a political view.

Our aim is to represent a range of views in our output. But at this special time in the lead up to elections, we take extra care to make sure our coverage is fair and balanced. This means that we may not be able to cover some stories that we may otherwise do, especially if a spokesperson is a political candidate or the story affects them.

However, we believe that local media should play an active, responsible part in the democratic process at election time.  The Radio Exe transmission area covers two main constituencies, Exeter and Devon East. We also cover parts of Devon Central, Newton Abbot and Tiverton & Honiton.

Right now, we intend to cover these groups in different ways:


Election special programmes: Tuesdays 8pm

14 April: Keith Crawford, UKIP

21 April: Ben Bradshaw, Labour

28 April: Joel Mason, Liberal Democrat

5 May: Dom Morris, Conservative

The Exeter Candidates

Devon East

We’ll be hosting a hustings at the Clock Tower Café, Sidmouth on Wednesday 22 April at 6pm. Please book your place and submit your question by emailing

We’ve invited each candidate representing a major party, plus the independent candidate Claire Wright, to prepare a short audio manifesto that we’ll be broadcasting during the election period.

The Devon East Candidates

Devon Central; Newton Abbot; Tiverton & Honiton

News coverage will be limited to the Radio Exe website.

 The Devon Central candidates

The Newton Abbot candidates

The Tiverton & Honiton candidates

Full list of candidates in all four constituencies that cover our TSA: 

Exeter: Dom Morris
East Devon: Hugo Swire MP
Tiverton & Honiton: Neil Parrish MP
Central Devon: Mel Stride MP
Exeter: Ben Bradshaw
East Devon: Steve Race
Tiverton & Honiton: Caroline Kolek
Central Devon: Lynne Richards
Liberal Democrats- 
Exeter: Joel Mason
East Devon: Stuart Mole
Tiverton & Honiton: Stephen Kearney
Central Devon: Alex White
Exeter: Keith Crawford
East Devon: Andrew Chapman
Tiverton & Honiton: Graham Smith
Central Devon: John Conway

Listen Live
On Air Now Jamie Taylor Playing Year 3000 Busted