Listen Live

Exeter getting two outdoor markets

Exeter Independent Market (image courtesy: InExeter)

Dates for fleas and independents

Exeter is getting a monthly independent market and flea market

The independent traders one follows a successful experiment on Cathedral Green in the city centre last July.

This year's market will feature over 60 stalls on the steps at the front of the Cathedral and its west front. It will also have live music and street entertainment.

Lottie Stanley, markets manager at InExeter, the city centre marketing group, says she frequently encounters up-and-coming creators who require guidance in taking their first steps into market trading, so this year's flea market with have 'suitcase pitches' for the market traders of tomorrow. These pitches allow new traders to try their hand with just a single square metre of space and a suitcase of their products.

Lottie is thrilled about this exciting new opportunity to not only support new business ventures but also offer fresh and original products that may be entirely new to the public.
 
The Fore Street Flea will run on four dates this year, in May, July, September, and November. The road will be closed to traffic, with stalls lining either side. The market comprises independent businesses on Fore Street, local traders, and individuals. 

The dates for the markets organised by InExeter are as follows:

The Fore Street Flea, 12 to 4 p.m. Fore Street, Exeter
 
Sunday 14th May
Sunday 16th July
Sunday 17th September
Sunday 19th November
 
The Exeter Independent Market, 11 a.m. to 4 p.m. Exeter Cathedral Green
 
Saturday 29th April
Saturday 27th May
Saturday 17th June
Saturday 29th July
Saturday 26th August
Saturday 30th September
 
Young Traders Awards Market – Regional Final, 11 a.m. to 4 p.m. Exeter Cathedral Green
 
Saturday 5th August

More from Community News

Listen Live
On Air Now Ashley Jeary Playing The Only Way Is Up Yazz & The Plastic Population