Listen Live

Lib Dems hold Ashburton and Buckfastleigh seat

Lib Dem Teignbridge Leader and Newton Abbot parliamentary candidate Martin Wrigley welcomes new district councillor Jack major, with Lib Dem colleague Cllr John Nutley (Image courtesy: Teignbridge Lib Dems)

Party increases its share of the vote

Liberal Democrat campaigners in Teignbridge have been celebrating the election of a new councillor.

Jack Major won the Ashburton and Buckfastleigh by-election which was called after the death of Lib Dem councillor Huw Cox in January.

Cllr Major’s win - with a majority of 192 - brings the Lib Dem group back up to 26 out of 47 members of Teignbridge Council.

Council leader Martin Wrigley (Lib Dem, Dawlish NE) said: “It’s great to see Jack win with a 192 majority and an increased vote share, and I know that Jack will be a great councillor for the area.

“Huw would have been delighted to see Jack join the council.”

Cllr Cox was chairman of Buckfastleigh Town Council and the town’s current mayor at the time of his death..

Cllr Wrigley said then: “He was always an outspoken advocate for his community. His contributions to this council were many and varied.

“This council, and I personally, will miss him very much as a councillor and as a friend.”

By-election results were: CLARKE, Sue, South Devon Alliance 523; EDLMANN, Richard, Conservative Party Candidate 325; HUNT, Madeleine, Heritage Party 36; MAJOR, Jack, Liberal Democrats 715; ROBILLARD WEBB, Lisa, Labour Party 303; HEXT, Michael, Independent 136; WYNTER, Pauline, Green Party 295.

More from Local News