You are viewing content from Radio Exe Plymouth. Would you like to make this your preferred location?
Listen Live

Who wants YOUR vote in Exeter on 2 May?

Polling station (image courtesy: Exeter City Council)

All the city council election candidates listed

More than 60 people have put their names down to fight for seats on Exeter City Council.

Voters in the city will go to the polls on Thursday 2 May to vote for 13 seats on the council, which elects a third of its councillors every year.

One seat in each of the council’s 13 wards will be contested. Eight members of the ruling Labour administration have their terms of office coming to an end, along with two Conservatives, two Independents and two Greens.

Among the notable councillors seeking re-election are Labour leader Phil Bialyk, who represents Exwick and has led the council since 2019, and Conservative group leader Anne Jobson (St Loyes).

Labour currently has an overall majority on the council, with 23 of the 39 total seats. The Green Party is the next largest with six seats, followed by the Conservatives with four, Liberal Democrats with three and two Independents.

The Greens and Lib Dems currently have a formal agreement to cooperate in what they call the Progressive Group to form the official opposition.

But whatever happens on election day, Labour will remain the largest party on Exeter City Council. However, it could lose its overall majority.

The candidates are: 

Alphington - HARDING Rob, Labour Party; HARRELD Mark Jeffrey, Independent; HARRISON, Benn Elliott, The Green Party; HORNER Jamie Liam, Liberal Democrat; NEW Katherine Helen Judy, The Conservative Party Candidate; PEARCE Martin Craig, Labour and Co-operative Party - Nomination Withdrawn.

Duryard and St. James  - BADCOTT Tony, Labour and Co-operative Party; LEE Martha Sylvia, The Green Party; MORE O`FERRALL Rory Fouad, The Conservative Party Candidate; PALMER Tammy Catherine, Liberal Democrat.

Exwick  - BIALYK Philip Michael, Labour and Co-operative Party; CURNOCK Charles Anthony, Liberal Democrat; HELIANTHUS Eric Sinclair, The Green Party; LUSCOMBE Kayleigh Michelle Suzanne, The Conservative Party Candidate; RUFOLO Frankie, Independent.

Heavitree  - COLLACOTT Joan Marilyn, The Conservative Party Candidate; EADE Jack, The Green Party; HAIGH Lucy, Independent; MUTTON Dave, Labour Party; RUFFLE Rod, Liberal Democrat.

Mincinglake and Whipton  - BROWN Oscar Harold, The Conservative Party Candidate; HUTCHINGS Clive Alan, Independent; PAYNE Michael Geoffrey, Liberal Democrat; POLE Liz, Labour Party; STEPHAN Alex, The Green Party.

Newtown and St. Leonard`s  - BROCK Philip John, Liberal Democrat; CABRERA Julian Edward, Labour Party; SIMMONDS Paul, Independent; SPARKES Keith Andrew, The Conservative Party Candidate; WETENHALL Lynn Susan, The Green Party.

Pennsylvania - HUGHES Zoë Jane, Labour Party; HUNT Jack, The Conservative Party Candidate; JARMAN Victoria, Independent; VICKERS Jack David, The Green Party; WILLIAMS Nigel David, Liberal Democrat.

Pinhoe  - CAMPION Christine Anne, Liberal Democrat; HUSSAIN Jakir, Labour and Co-operative Party; JAGO Kate, The Green Party; SIMMONDS Susan, Independent; THOMPSON David John, The Conservative Party Candidate.

Priory - ABDULRAZAQ Tal, Independent; LUSCOMBE David, The Conservative Party Candidate; MULLETT Heather Ursula, The Green Party; THOMAS Philip Alexander, Liberal Democrat; WARDLE Tony, Labour Party.

St. David`s - BANYARD James John, The Green Party; NEWBY Rob, The Conservative Party Candidate; STUART Ellen Miriam, Labour and Co-operative Party, WRIGHT Harry, Liberal Democrat.

St. Loye`s - BONETTA Jake, Labour and Co-operative Party; BUTTERS Timothy Robert, Liberal Democrat; HANCOCK Deb, The Green Party; JOBSON Anne Margaret, The Conservative Party Candidate.

St. Thomas - BRAGG Andy, The Green Party; CARR Ashley, The Conservative Party Candidate; DARLING Deborah Charlotte, Labour and Co-operative Party; HANNAFORD Rob, Independent; NEWCOMBE Alexandra Vanessa, Liberal Democrat.

Topsham - FINCH Sarah Jane, The Green Party; ROLSTONE Gemma Lorraine, Labour Party; THOMPSON Cynthia, The Conservative Party Candidate; WILLIAMSON Alan, Liberal Democrat.

More from Local News

Listen Live
On Air Now Through The Evening Playing Million Dollar Bill Whitney Houston